Q. If a married couple who are both honorably discharged veterans file jointly, do they get a $6,000 exemption or only $3,000?
— Vet couple
A. Great question.
The New Jersey Taxation website said: ” “The exemption is available for all veterans who received honorable discharges or who were released under honorable circumstances from active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States, a reserve component thereof, or the National Guard of New Jersey in a federal active duty status.”
The law says “all” veterans, said Kenneth Bagner, a certified public accountant with Sobel and Co. in Livingston.
“We interpret this to be measured by person so we believe $6,000 would be appropriate,” he said. “In order to claim the deduction, I would suggest they maintain on file their DD214 discharge papers.”
Email your questions to moc.p1508318238leHye1508318238noMJN1508318238@ksA1508318238.